The Cultural Association of Vall de Lord is an institution founded in 1946 by a group of residents of Sant Llorenç de Morunys interested in the history, traditions, cultural heritage and landscape in Vall de Lord.



The four municipalities of Vall de Lord

The territory of the Vall de Lord comprises two geographical areas  historically distinct: the upper Vall de Lord in the north and east, and the lower in the south. The territory of the former, which corresponds to the headwaters of the rivers Cardener and Aigua de Valls, is divided between three municipalities: La Coma i la Pedra, Guixers and Sant Llorenç de Morunys. While the lowest Vall de Lord corresponds to the Navès municipality and geographically is defined basically by Busa mountain,  the valley of Cardener to the Llosa dam, and the valley of river Aigua d’Ora.

The distribution of the Vall de Lord between differents administrative entities was a reality in the Middle Age, as the upper valley understood the terms of the castles of the Pedra, Castelltort and Sisquer, while the lower valley included the terms of the castles of Castelló and Navès.


< go back

Comments are closed.